Google Maps is one of the most popular navigation services available for smartphones. Google Maps allows you to find different locations, use live navigation, and check the public transport available in an area and a few other advanced features. User-friendly interface, accurate calculations, and available customizations make it one of the best services in the field. Along with doing all the basics right, there are features like location sharing, making it a great app. The location-sharing feature of Google Maps can be used to share your location or track your family members’ or friends’ locations. Although the person who is sharing the location can limit some of the features, it is a wonderful tool to ensure that your family members and friends are fine and traveling on the right path. The process of sharing your location on Google Maps is simple, and you can do it in just a few clicks. However, it can look a bit complicated to understand if you are trying it for the first time or if you are not quite familiar with Google Maps, so we have got you covered. In this article, we will elaborate on the complete process of sharing your location on various devices with Google Maps. Let’s scroll down and understand this easy process.
Google Maps is available for both Android and iOS. The process of location sharing is almost similar for both operating systems. The first step to sharing your location with your family members or friends through Google Maps is to open the app. After opening the Google Maps, you have to click on your profile icon, which you can find on the screen’s upper right. There you will see an option saying Location Sharing, and after tapping this option, you will be asked to provide access to your contacts if you are using this feature for the first time. After that, you will be able to choose a contact from the contacts available on your device. You will be able to share your location with the selected contact. You can decide the period for which you want to share your location with the person you have selected, or you can also choose to share your location for an indefinite time by selecting the option ‘Until You Turn This Off.’ You can add more people to the list of contacts you share your location by following a similar process. If you want to stop sharing your location on Google Maps, tap the sharing status, and then click ‘Stop’ to stop the location sharing.
It is easy to share your location on Google Maps with the contacts available on your phone, but if you want to share your location with any social media contact, then the process is a bit different. You can share your location on social media apps with a link only. To start sharing your location on various social media apps, the first step is to open the Google Maps app on your phone. After opening the app, you will find the Location Sharing button after clicking on your profile on your screen’s upper right corner. After clicking on the Location Sharing button, you will get an option of sharing your location through a link or an app. The next step is to choose the app you want to share your location with or, you can also find the option of copying the link after scrolling a little. Now you will be able to share your location with the app, who has access to that link, or those whom you have selected on any app.
The location-sharing feature on Google Maps is really useful as it allows your family and friends to track your location and be sure about your safety. When you are sharing your location with someone on Google Maps, they will be able to see your precise location, address information such as your city and ZIP or postal code, along with the battery percentage of your phone.
Google Maps has made it easy to stay sure about our loved ones’ safety with the location sharing feature. In this article, we have elaborated on the process of sharing your location using Google Maps, which you can use when needed.